Book Reviews · Recommendations

Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy by Jenna Brown

33674085. sy475

Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy
By: Jenna Brown

Published: May 2017
Published by: Two Creeks Press
Format Read: Trade Paperback
Genre: Mystery

Rating: 3/5

NOTE: I won a copy of Jenna Brown’s Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy, from the publisher via Goodreads. The following is my honest review.

Synopsis

About Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy
Jenna Brown is a Nashville entertainment lawyer. She has green eyes, ivory skin, long wheat-colored hair, and an attitude. Jenna runs her practice from an office in an old building on Music Row. She wears pearls, drinks sherry, and collects antique perfume bottles, but she isn’t sentimental and knows how to handle herself in a dive club after midnight.
In Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy, Jenna copes with copyright infringement, a client accused of murder, a macho boyfriend, an assortment of singers and songwriters, a gunshot wound, a blueblood music lawyer, a stripper, a twenty-year-old secret and a forty-year-old mystery, two thugs, a money-laundering conspiracy, a near-concussion, a kidnapping, a charming drug trafficker, crooked cops, and four murders.

Jenna Brown will appeal to readers who like Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone, Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski, and Robert Parker’s Spenser, as well as the books of Lisa Scottoline.

Source: Goodreads

My Thoughts

Jenna Brown’s debut novel Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy takes the reader on a behind the scenes tour of the country music industry in Nashville. This was a quick mystery about an entertainment lawyer, who takes it upon her self to exonerate her client in the murder of a washed-up song writer.

I enjoyed learning about the city and its history. I also learned more about the role of a lawyer in the careers of musicians, song writers and publishers.

Jenna Brown seemed to have a never ending supply of contacts, she enlisted to help her investigate the case. I often became mixed up with these characters and this muddled the ending for me.

Otherwise Death of a Rhinestone Cowboy was an enjoyable mystery and I would recommend it to fans of the genre.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s